The Faculty of Agriculture was founded jointly with the Faculty of Natural Resources in 1991. In 2007, the Faculty of Agriculture separated from the Faculty of Natural Resources and commenced its academic teaching and research activities on an independent basis. It is currently one of the major providers of research in agricultural fields in the region. Both training and research are undertaken at the highest professional level and a wide range of agriculture-based scientific courses are offered to graduate and postgraduate students. The faculty’s mission is to develop resources and technology to provide contemporary and future needs of the agricultural sector of Kurdistan province, to advance and disseminate knowledge and to provide advice and guidance in the field of agriculture for sustainable economic development.
At present, the Faculty of Agriculture has over 1000 students and 69 full-time academic members of staff. The faculty has 28 laboratories including Soil Chemistry Laboratory, Soil Physics Laboratory, Plant Breeding Laboratory, Plant Pathology, Genetics Laboratory, Entomology Laboratory, Poultry Production Unit, Quail Production Unit, Dairy Cattle Production Unit. In addition, this faculty has four greenhouses and 50 hectares of agricultural research fields.
The faculty has 8 departments, offering 12 undergraduate degree programs and 24 postgraduate degree programs (including 7 PhD degree programs), comprising of:
    Faculty of Agriculture
    Faculty of Agriculture
    The faculty has 8 departments, offering 12 undergraduate degree programmes and 24 postgraduate degree programmes
    The below table lists all degree programs offered by the faculty.

    List of Degree Programs

    Department Degree Program Program(s)
    Animal Sciences Animal Sciences BSc
    Animal Breeding MSc, PhD
    Animal Physiology MSc, PhD
    Animal Nutrition MSc, PhD
    Agronomy & Plant Breeding  Production and Plant Genetic Engineering (Agrotechnology & Biotechnology) BSc
    Plant Genetic and Breeding MSc
    Agroecology MSc
    Agricultural Biotechnology MSc, PhD
    Agronomy (Crop Physiology) PhD
    Horticultural Sciences and Engineering Food Sciences & Technology BSc
    Landscape Engineering BSc
    Horticultural Sciences & Engineering BSc
    Horticultural Sciences & Engineering: Fruit Trees MSc
    Horticultural Sciences & Engineering: Vegetables MSc
    Horticultural Sciences & Engineering: Medicinal Plants MSc
    Horticultural Sciences & Engineering: Ornamental Plants MSc
    Soil Sciences Soil Sciences & Engineering BSc
    Soil Biology and Biotechnology MSc
    Soil Physics & Conservation MSc
    Soil Resources & Land Evaluation MSc
    Agricultural Economics Agricultural Economics BSc
    Agricultural Policy & Development MSc
    Agricultural Extension & Education MSc
    Plant Protection Plant Protection BSc
    Agricultural Entomology MSc
    Plant Pathology MSc, PhD
    Water Sciences & Engineering Water Sciences &  Engineering BSc
    Irrigation & Drainage Engineering MSc
    Biosystems Engineering Mechanics & Biosystems Engineering BSc
    Design and Construction MSc
    Postharvest Technology MSc
    Food Industry Machinery Engineering BSc
    Contact Us
    Viewers' Statistic
    Online users 25
    Today 102
    Yesterday 108
    This month 4799
    This year 48468
    Total 102454
    Page visits 1493

    University Of
    Telephone: +988733664600-8
    Postal Code: 66177-15175
    Address: University of Kurdistan, Pasdaran St, Sanandaj, Kurdistan, Iran
    Powered By: Jiro